Reflection Integrated Lesson Plan

Standard

When I was in the classroom full time, my lessons and activities were teacher-centered.  I taught in the traditional classroom setting way.  Because I am a high energy, passionate teacher, students, participants, administrators and evaluators consistently gave me very positive feedback.  Keeping students engaged with appropriate questioning strategies, real-life examples, many group activities and individual sharing contributed to the effectiveness of my teaching and student learning.

Active learning was important to me…and now I am so excited to learn new technology tools to incorporate in the classroom.  I used to assign research projects and try to make them as interesting and valuable as possible. Now with  all the possibilities the internet and other technology tools provide, student learning opportunities are endless.   I am a recovering ‘mobile newbie” that used to use technology infrequently because  I thought it was too hard to learn and was intimidated.   Even though I do not have a teaching job at the moment, I am thrilled to learn all of “cool” ways to bring my teaching into the 21st century. 

I have been interested in internet safety and helping other parents learn about ways of keeping children safe while using technology.  After recently attending some classes on internet safety, I have decided to offer some more classes focused on helping parents and teachers know what children are doing on the internet and ways to teach responsible use of technology.  My integrated lesson plan includes an online video from www.netsmartz.org.  This website is full of great ideas and information about technology and safety.  Yes….I still can’t believe that I was able to download the vide to my lesson plan!!!!  I hope you will take the time to review this resource and let me know what you think. 

Leave a Reply

